Obsessed

I’m obsessed with Indian flavors. Curries, tandoori style meats, sweet/spicy chutneys, and chewy crispy naan.

I had two Indian roommates in college and since then am constantly searching for ways to introduce these flavors into my food.

There is one VERY BIG barrier between me and Biriyani for dinner every night.

naat a fanSee this handsome man on the right? He didn’t grow up with curry. Or Indian food.

He’s not a sauce guy. Doesn’t like things to be swimming in sauce.

It is very difficult to convince someone that doesn’t like sauce they actually DO like Indian flavors.

We certainly do not get to many Indian restaurants to let him experiment with different dishes..

My solution: Sneak curry and garam masala into anything that might convert him. This goes over with varying levels of success.

My most recent attempt has been a smashing success.

Indian spiced mini meatloaves. To. Die. For.

Ingrediants

1 lb ground turkey

1 egg

1/2 c panko

1/2 onion diced

1/2 red bell pepper, diced

1/8th c Worcestershire

1T curry

1T Garam Masala

1t oregano

1/2T salt

1 t pepper

1 t onion powder

1t garlic powder

BBQ sauce to top (I would have used a chutney but thought this would weird Hubs out too much)

Smoosh everything together except the BBQ sauce (JUST until combined. Don’t overwork your meat!)

Spray your really old muffin tin with oil

(for some reason I sprayed to the tune of Jingle Bells. Seriously. I am bizarre.)

Each muffin spot is a syllable

Jin. Gle. Bells.

Jin. Gle. Bells.

Jin. Gle. All.

The. Waa. Ay.

Put meatloaf in each of your muffin spots, and bake at 350 for 20 minutes.

After 20 miutes, pull out your meatloafs, dab the accumualted fat off of them with a papertowel, and drizzle bbq sauce or chutney on them.

I ordered a free sample of Bulls Eye Regional BBQ sauces about 1 month ago and they arrived in the mail yesterday (it was a perfect coincidence).

In my package were the Texas style and Kansas City style sauces.

I used the tomato based Texas style on half and the Molasses based Kansas City style on the other half.

Then I let my kids suck the remaining sauce out of the packets so they would leave me alone while I made the salad.

DO NOT judge me by the messiness of my kitchen. Or do. Judgy McJudgerson.

The results.

Ahhhhhhmazing.

Served with homegrown mashed potatoes and salad with homegrown veggies!

I preferred the tomato based BBQ sauce on the smoky, exotic flavors of the meatloaf. The other one was still good, though.

I highly encourage you to try this recipe. It rocked my world last night and again at lunch today.

About dirtdonthurtmom

Beauty and Simplicity inspire me. Lack of clarity annoys me. Selfish people really piss me off. I have a filter, but ignore it, mostly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Obsessed

  1. Katie says:

    I won’t judge the messiness of your kitchen, but letting the kids suck the remaining sauce out of the Bullseye packets is like my worst nightmare! (I hate Bullseye BBQ sauce! hahahaha)

  2. veronica says:

    what is garam masala?? i want to try this recipe real soon..but could you tell me where I might find this stuff at?

  3. Bill says:

    Bill Bird is SO MAKING THIS!

    Looks good!

    Glad to see that you got the hubby on a diet of turkey meat. Adopted that after the docs put a piece of metal in my ticker and surgically detached me from the Carl’s Jr. Drive Thru Window.

    It’s my meat of choice now.

  4. Nellie says:

    I love garam masala! I like to roast cashews with just garam masala and a little salt. It’s really easy and tasty.

  5. Gigi says:

    I wonder if that’s the way to get my hubby to eat meatloaf?

  6. Chris says:

    I only cook veg. food, but I’m the same way as you — I would eat nothing but Indian if it were possible. My main cooking endeavor this past year has been to learn the basics of Indian cooking. I’m lucky that my girlfriend is tolerant even if she’s not as gung-ho about it as I am. Even in ordinary food, I’m putting curry powder in everything from pasta salad to spaghetti sauce to vinaigrette — I haven’t yet found the food it doesn’t enhance. :)

Leave a Reply

