Clean Being

I’m just not built to clean.

I’m built to soothe, joke, cook, laugh, drink, read, garden, kiss, love, work and write.

Not so much built for washing, folding, bed making, sweeping, wiping, mopping and my arch nemesis…putting laundry away.

I DO clean, but I’m not good at maintaining cleanliness. I LOVE a clean house. I even enjoy scrubbing the floor on my hands and knees.

Every 6 months. Maybe.

The rugrats are just that: Rug rats. They leave shit EVERYWHERE.

I was just about to blame my kids for the mess. I’m going to call myself out here and admit that this is not all their fault. They DO  leave stuff places. So do I. So does Jared. We simply aren’t in the habit of putting things in their place. We are exhausted, and while it is a sorry excuse, no one around here is holding anyone else accountable.

The zinger: I’m totally organized. Everything has a place. A basket, a cupboard, a drawer. Picking up up is a quick, painless process.

It’s the big stuff like mopping, dusting, vacuuming, toilet scrubbing and laundry putting awaying (I am fully aware that this is not a word) that overwhelms me and gives me anxiety. Then I just don’t do it.

I’ve struggled with this my whole life, and I’ve gotten better as the kids have gotten older. Some weeks I’m hopeless, but others I impress myself.

This week, after going without a sink, dishwasher and clothes washer due to a clogged drain for TWO weeks, I am feeling grateful for the tools I have at my fingertips.

Somehow, all the gratefulness has led to a miracle. Something that has NEVER, EVER happened before.

I have kept the dishes, laundry, kids and dinner in order every night this week. I only had one serious temper tantrum (Yes. I have temper tantrums from time to time) and that was early in the week. I even got coffee put into the programmable coffee maker 4 out of 5 days.

Our shit is totally dialed in this week.

They say it takes 21 days to create a habit. Can I create a clean habit?

Maybe.

Thi image is not mine. I found it from google images. THe accompanying article seems kind of funky, so I don't endorse it...

This isn’t a cleaning blog (Hah! THAT would be a disaster) and to be honest, if I fail at this “challenge”, I probably just won’t write about it again.

So just know that I make no promises except that if it goes well…I won’t shut up about it!

Oh yeah-I’m getting a housekeeper for the big stuff some time soon. Not until I get better at the little things, but soon.

How do you keep things clean? Do you? What are your secrets?

I love to hear new ideas…maybe you can help me reach my house cleaner goal sooner!

About dirtdonthurtmom

Beauty and Simplicity inspire me. Lack of clarity annoys me. Selfish people really piss me off. I have a filter, but ignore it, mostly.
This entry was posted in cleaning, frustration, kids, Organization, things I try, work. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Clean Being

  1. POP says:

    Took me awhile to “Not sweat the small stuff” .

  2. POP says:

    cleanlyness is not close to godlyness . . . have fun enjoy your kids and husband and clean when you can. Also when you get alittle older and have alittle extra cash you can hire someone to help . . .

  3. Bill says:

    Venus is always complaining about not keeping the house clean enough and she doesn’t have the two children that you do Roya. I can only do so much. If I try to help — which I do — she looks upon my help as “wife failure.” If I don’t help — she complains about how dirty the house is (it’s not). I guess what I’m saying is this: you’re not alone.

Leave a Reply

