Digging deep

image

image

Harvesting potatoes is a bitch.

It’s also super fun. You dig and dig and dig and dig…throwing taters into a box as you find them, never knowing how many you’ll actually have at the end.

Last year, we got less than 5 lbs from our 2 lbs of seed potatoes.

This year, I vowed to conquer the spud. It’s a POTATO for goodness sake. How hard should it be to grow a frigging potato.

We grew 5 types: Banana, French Fingerling, Blue, Yukon Gold, Red, and White.

Results: amazing production: Yukon Gold, Red, and Blue. Some are as large (or larger) than softballs.

The banana and French fingerlings -ehh. Ok production, but the taste is amazing and the texture is smooth and fluffy all at once.

The white potatoes produced almost nothing. 5 potatoes maybe. Lame.

It also happens to be incredibly satisfying when you weigh the box and it is 40 lbs. I got 40 lbs from 3 lbs of seed potatoes. Awesome.

What I love most about growing my own potatoes is the variety of sizes. Last might I roasted a bunch of the tiny baby ones (of all types) with some rosemary, garlic, S&P and Olive oil. They were no bigger than my thumb and so outrageously delicious! I would never buy tiny potatoes because they are so expensive, so having them on my plate just seemed decadent.

I can promise lots of potato recipes in the future of this blog:)

About dirtdonthurtmom

Beauty and Simplicity inspire me. Lack of clarity annoys me. Selfish people really piss me off. I have a filter, but ignore it, mostly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Digging deep

  1. Roxie says:

    nice looking fingerlings there!

  2. Bill says:

    Congrats on the Spud harvest! That looks pretty darn good right there! Get some burlap sacks from the Feed and Supply store in East Sac — and keep them next to a wall in the garage that offers the most cool location. They’ll last a long time!

  3. megg says:

    Yum! I wish I could grow my own veggies

Leave a Reply

