Year 2.

Year 2.

We didn’t see you coming.

Barreling down the hallway, slipping

sliding in your socks. Running

Rocking your baby and pulling the cat’s tail.

Trail of destruction in your wake.

You ran right into me.

My teeth rattle in my brain.

Pain throughout my body as I lift your wiggling, growing frame.

In my neck as I scrub out the carpet stains.

Again.

Oh Two!

You surprised us

Paralyzed us

Made us cringe.

We forgot what you were like and hoped this time you’d be different.

But here you are old friend…

Circling ‘round my leg

Smearing banana hands on my freshly laundered pants

Eating ants

Throwing tantrums and balls and

Everything else.

It’s a good thing your snuggles are so snuggly.

And the good moments are so lovely.

And the beer is cold and bubbly.

About dirtdonthurtmom

Beauty and Simplicity inspire me. Lack of clarity annoys me. Selfish people really piss me off. I have a filter, but ignore it, mostly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Year 2.

  1. Gigi says:

    How apropos as a girlfriend and I were just trying to figure out if the second one is as difficult as the first in the first 6 weeks of life.

    Love this.

  2. pop says:

    “It’s a good thing your snuggles are so snuggly.” Only as a child can give!

Leave a Reply

