Paper Caper

I make many resolutions throughout the year.

Drink more water.

Eat less high fructose corn syrup.

Be nice.

I do like to up the ante a bit at the New Year…just to challenge myself to think bigger, go for the gold, and make an extreme change that affects me, my family and our planet in a positive way. I also believe that a New Year’s resolution should carry over into every year going forward. REALLY make an impact on your lifestyle. I am a better person for each of the things I have taken up at the new year. I hope that these two will benefit from my resolutions and learn habits that they can carry with them throughout their lives.

I really just included this photo because I love it so!

2 years ago, I resolved to grow our own food. This has been a smashing success. In the spring and summer we are almost entirely self-sustained (except for fruit), and this feels so good. Organic veggies grown in your own yard are the best. There is no better. Our family is learning about how things grow and the value of every seed.

Our first carrots in June of 2009

Last year, it was to cook more meals for our family and eat less junk. Jared and I went vegetarian for 30 days (should have blogged about THAT-it was hard and just not our style), we turned a corner on several veggie aversions during that time, and did pretty well. We certainly eat less fast food, and feel horrible when we do. It physically hurts to eat a McDonalds hamburger and don’t even get me started on KFC.

The only thing not grown in our garden was the salmon.

 

The chickens were an added bonus in May. We’ve got eggs and they are delicious! It is an amazing feeling to pass by the egg isle in the grocery store without a second glance.

This was our first egg. This morning we got one at least twice this size.

This year, my resolution is not so popular in the Peezy house. My Sunset magazine showed up December 15th and there was this amazing woman featured in it. She and her family have a zero waste home. She lives 30 minutes from me.

I was fascinated by the concept and took a peek at her blog. Holy crap. There are so many things I’m not doing. I want to be accountable, to hold my family accountable for its waste and to make less mess.

So we will no longer be purchasing paper towels and napkins. Or paper plates. I’m pretty sure I’ll be eliminating plastic snack bags too, but that will take a bit of sewing handy work and the organization of making sure that a crafty option for carrying cut fruit is available to the kids (clean, put away) when they need it.

If anyone else is interested in taking a look at your paperless options, I have been studying this post for inspiration. I highly recommend you look at the Zero waste blog as well, because of how mind-blowing her efforts are. I’m not quite ready to get that hardcore. Quite frankly, I enjoy a certain level of materialism and while I envy her discipline, I’m going to focus on the areas which I feel will make the most impact the fastest in our house.

Cloth diapers are probably next on the list. We are running low on the disposables, and they will save us a ton of money long term. Hubby is even on board! But that’s another post…

About dirtdonthurtmom

Beauty and Simplicity inspire me. Lack of clarity annoys me. Selfish people really piss me off. I have a filter, but ignore it, mostly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paper Caper

  1. Karlie O says:

    Good for you! And I LOVE that pic of your kiddos too! I miss you and your family!! Let’s make a date soon! xoxoxox

  2. Thanks for the link to that blog; great source for ideas and inspiration. Good for you indeed! I’m not industrious enough, not by half, but it really is worth it when you stop to think about it.

Leave a Reply

