Feeling Groovy

I have not been able to drag my ass out of bed before 6 am any day this week. Because of this, my superhero husband (He really is a superhero. Just ask Darian.) has been making lunches, feeding chickens, collecting eggs and doing just about everything else while I shower and get dressed. I did manage to dress the children this morning, but it was the least I could do. The very least.
THIS morning, we had no time to make a pot of coffee. No coffee and freezing temperatures and whiny children and waking up late. Plus our water heater has been heating up v.e.r.y.s.l.o.w.l.y because of the arctic temperatures we are experiencing. So the shower is lukewarm, too. AWESOME start to a Friday.
We dropped off the banshees and stopped at Starbucks. I prefer Petaluma Coffee Company, because it’s a local business and that is important to me, plus it reminds me of my dad, not to mention they roast a mean bean, but we have a gift card to Starbucks. So Starbucks it is.
This is starting off super boring….but I’m getting to my point. I promise.
So. We swing by Starbucks, and I’m dreading the line. Because I hate lines. With a passion.
People look at you, judge you, are annoying and foot-tappy. The loud, audible sighs make me want to turn around and “For fuck’s sake, will you just SHUT UP! We are all waiting for the same thing. Your time is no more valuable than mine. Give it a rest, fussy-pants”, but I am just not rude like that. Sometimes I wish I could be.
I won’t even go to a book signing for this lady because I fear the throngs of people. It just isn’t fun to do anything when there is a line involved.
But I digress- There was no line. Just 1 person ahead of me and there was Parking available right across the street. I got my coffee within 2 minutes-with a smile-from the cute, small town barista.
It hit me then: This is real. We live here. I am a part of this community.
I never imagined myself WANTING to be a part of this small community again. Growing up here, I never really fit in, and felt bored with the limited amenities. I suppose, in hindsight, it was regular teenage boredom, not the town itself.
As an adult, we are having SO MUCH FUN.
We are settling in to a slower lifestyle. It is so simple here, so quiet. No helicopter blades buzzing overhead every night. I recognize someone everywhere I go. I feel like we are living in some type of teen romance movie. You know, the kind where you know the way it will end within 20 pages of starting the book?
We wander through downtown on the weekends; play in the playground of the school I attended as a child, the same school my children will attend. My uncle owns the most incredible fish and chips shop ever, and we mosey down for lunch weekly. The clam chowder is the best you will ever have. I guarantee this. DO NOT SKIP it when you pass through town. And if you live in Petaluma and have never been there, shame on you!
Our friends live walking distance and my kids are already enamored with their children. I can see that my love of organic gardening will be fostered here as it was in Sacramento (I miss my gardening peeps in Sacramento already and it is still winter). I can’t wait to get some plants in the ground. I miss the feeling on dirt in my teeth from poorly washed home grown lettuce.
The chickens are happy. The kids are happy. The husband is happy. We miss our friends, but I keep reminding myself that they are still our friends, just further away.

It feels good to feel at home.

About dirtdonthurtmom

Beauty and Simplicity inspire me. Lack of clarity annoys me. Selfish people really piss me off. I have a filter, but ignore it, mostly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Feeling Groovy

  1. Gretchen says:

    I can understand how much you love petaluma. We drive through it every year on our way to an annual bodega bay trip. each year I am enraptured by how cute it is, but how much cool stuff seems to be accessible, music, shows, restaurants – I thought of you as we passed through last week. the older I get the more I want to slow things down – so, enjoy! and ps, get a coffee pot with a timer and set yourself up at night. It is truly a satisfying thing to wake up to a freshly made pot of coffee, no waiting…

  2. Katie says:

    I love this. I love being an adult more and more everyday… I can sense your contentment with being home. All roads lead home.

  3. gramps says:

    Every time ˆ visit my Son and his family in Rio Vista, I have the same feeling. They feel the same as you.

  4. Jackie says:

    I’m so glad you are loving life! We miss you but it sounds like you are very happy. Yeah!

Leave a Reply

