My most favorite…

Simple. My favorite way to spend this day. As simply as possible.

What I LOVE about today is that my husband and I don’t do anything differently. I like to think that we show our love for one another every day, so there is no need for flowers or balloons or sappy store bought cards

(IT sound so lame to type that out, but it’s true.)

In fact, tonight’s dinner is going to be a spaghetti squash that needs to get eaten immediately, with pasta sauce in the fridge that needs to be eaten immediately. So perfectly unromantic.

Truth be told, I spent years pining for a romantic getaway, roses at my office, fancy dinner….ANYTHING over the top. I told myself that I deserved someone that would spoil me on Valentine’s day, and how romantic it would be.

I’m sure it would be romantic…if I’d chosen another partner and lived a different life. With Jared, it would be forced and frivolous and so unnecessary.

The reality of our relationship is different than what I’d imagined. Jared and I both have a DIY mentality, and take pride in having built something beautiful from the ground up.

Our marriage

Our Children

This is last year's eggplant.

Our marriage, our family, our Garden… all things we put our blood, sweat, and tears into.

Every birthday, holiday and celebration, the two of us inevitably end up in the dirt, with a shovel, digging, planting, chainsawing and hedge-trimming our way to landscaping victory. We don’t plan it that way, but I swear that we have most of our team building love fests on days when the weather is perfect for gardening.

We are at the beginning of what will be a long process, but it is bound to be an amazing transformation!

Just like our love and our marriage and our family. We put so much of ourselves into it, the results can be nothing but beautiful.

Happy Valentine’s day!

 

PS: I can not figure out the frigging formatting of this post. So sorry things are just lumped together!

About dirtdonthurtmom

Beauty and Simplicity inspire me. Lack of clarity annoys me. Selfish people really piss me off. I have a filter, but ignore it, mostly.
This entry was posted in gardening, kids, love, tomatoes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My most favorite…

  1. Katie says:

    Perfectly sweet. I love posts that are heart-warming and happy like this one. I love the pic of your kids. Adorable. Happy Valentine’s Day to you also!

  2. Jared Platsis says:

    I love you!

Leave a Reply

