Garden Update

This is what happens when you let a 2 and 4 year old go crazy with packets of seed:

Not only am I befuddled as to WHAT they are, I really have to thin them out so that some of them actually produce some flowers.

 

Before:

And After:

This is from the same angle, but J is about 6 inches taller than I am.

You can see that the kids also too the liberty of sprinkling seeds all around the raised beds as well. I’m looking forward to freshly cut flowers, but I’m pretty sure there are a ton of weeds that I haven’t yet identified also mixed in.

We are going to be training our heirloom tomatoes this year using lodge poles and wire. We saw something similar used at the State fair 2 years ago, and while Jared and I have an argument about HOW exactly it was done, we are sure it will be super cool to watch it progress.

 

We have also put up the bamboo fencing on the chicken’s side of the pallet fence. We love to look at them, but they were slipping between the pallets and eating all my plants! They seem to be really happy in their dedicated space, although they spend a lot of time in the front yard, digging for grubs and worms while the kids play.

See that tomato on the right hand side of the front bed? That little feller started sprouting up from a cucumber plant that was planted there. I’m not ove to say no to more tomatoes, so I moved the cukes and am letting this guy go. I’m pretty sure it’s a cherry variety, but you never really know until the maters start to form. The cucumber did not take well to the transplant, and I think I may just start from seed, since they would catch up quickly due to our gorgeous weather (finally).

My kids are super happy with their strawberries and I LOVE our strawberry pot!

I can’t wait to get out in the garden on Sunday to dig around some more. A coworker brought me Haricort Vert seeds from FRANCE, and I’m going to have to find a place to plant some just to see how they do:)

About dirtdonthurtmom

Beauty and Simplicity inspire me. Lack of clarity annoys me. Selfish people really piss me off. I have a filter, but ignore it, mostly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

