Unconditional Parenting

I’ve been cheating on my neglected blog with my sister’s well updated one. We both practice versions of Unconditional Parenting, and I’ve written a bit about my experiences with it there. Parenting is a wild ride, and when I was looking for tools to help me develop strong ties with my children, even through adversity, Unconditional Parenting seemed to make a lot of sense.

As you read my post, please understand that Unconditional parenting goes against everything most of us are conditioned to do. It goes against what I have learned, but is so true to my instincts as a parent. It has been a struggle separating my learned behaviors (the way our parents parented us, the way we see people parenting in movies and TV, my expectations that my children will just “do what I say”) from what I actually see working with my kids. I hope to write more about this here on my own blog, as I really have seen a huge difference if I simply “practice patience” with my kids and to truly listen to them when they are talking to me.

Please take a gander here and be sure to read the rest of her blog as well. She’s full of great ideas….it must run in the family:)

About dirtdonthurtmom

Beauty and Simplicity inspire me. Lack of clarity annoys me. Selfish people really piss me off. I have a filter, but ignore it, mostly.
This entry was posted in fear, frustration, Guest posting, kids, love, parents, things I try, Unconditional parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

