Fall is where it’s at-in my garden.

Yesterday, I failed miserably at unconditional parenting. My patience with them was short. Rhys is going through something annoying, and Jared is working all weekend. It took us an hour of screaming and tears (mine and his) to get clothes on my little man. I’m dedicated to doing things differently today. This includes giving the kids a bunch of seeds and letting them go cray in their very own container gardens. If I can foster independence and get oodles of veggies planted at the same time, I’m all for it!

If you have never planted a fall/winter garden, this is the year to start. While most everyone knows you can grow things in the spring and summer, they often neglect replanting their beds with food to eat all winter long!

My fall and winter garden provides me with an abundance of delicious vegetables AND requires way less watering than a traditional summer garden. The rains of winter help my garden to grow big and strong with so much less effort on my part. In fact, I may go as far as to say that fall gardening is superior to spring just for that fact alone! Because we live in the Bay Area, we only need to cover our veggies during frosty evenings, and this can be done quickly and easily the 3 or 4 times a season that it is an issue.

A partial list of what you can plant now and harvest all winter long:

BEETS (my favorite)

Cabbage

Kale

Collard Greens

Broccoli

Broccoli Rabe

Cauliflower

Brussel Sprouts

Carrots

Parsnips

Turnips

Radishes

Lettuce

Spinach

Swiss Chard

Kohlrabi

You can also (and should) plant onions, garlic and potatoes in October, to harvest in spring and early summer. Tere is NOTHING like harvesting 100 lbs of potatoes in the late spring, and roasting them with fresh garlic and rosemary from your garden.

Make sure you amend your soil with good compost, as your summer garden soil has depleted all of the nutrients that you added in spring, and fertilize with fish emulsion every 2 weeks during the growing season. Fish emulsion is stinky, but there is nothing like it for organic gardening.

This will be my first year planting Brussel sprouts, cabbage and cauliflower. I’m excited to give these a try, as we eat a ton of them throughout the winter months.

Everything listed here grows well in containers, and with a little TLC, you will have veggies all through the rainy season.

Do you have any favorite winter vegetables? Are you considering a winter garden this year?

About dirtdonthurtmom

Beauty and Simplicity inspire me. Lack of clarity annoys me. Selfish people really piss me off. I have a filter, but ignore it, mostly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

