Dishpan hands

I vividly remember learning “the right way” to do dishes. We had hosted a wedding at our house for our dear friends, and the wedding was catered by another friend of the family. After all the guests were trickling out, Mike prepped the dishes to be done in a way I’d never seen before.
Two clean sinks.
Silverware soaking in hot soapy water in the bottom of one of the sinks. Dishes stacked neatly, waiting their turn for a dip. I was sold.

There is something so PROPER about a clean dish. No, I am not kidding.
No, I will not do your dishes.
Except if you cook me dinner at your house. Then I’ll wash your dishes as long as you give me sips of wine and stay in the kitchen to chat. I hate missing the party.

It seems as though I will always be a dishwasher. Growing up, it was one of the only chores I didn’t hate being assigned to.
Something about the warm water, soapy dishes and repetition of it all was less awful than folding laundry and washing windows.

The one thing I hate about doing dishes is dishpan hands. I am a grown ass woman. I have to clean shit up ALL.THE.TIME. But I can never find a pair of rubber gloves with which to protect my hands.
That’s a lie. I could find them if I owned them. It simply never occurs to me to buy them.

I’ve been looking longingly at a few pairs of beautiful heavy duty gloves lately, and I thought I’d share them with you for shits and giggles.

If I had any time in my day, maybe I’d make myself a pair.
http://www.favecrafts.com/Mothers-Day/Fancy-Rubber-Gloves#

These match my kitchen

Like gloves with dresses on.

Black and silver-can you say CLASSY!!!!

The little black dress of dishwashing

I love the fact that these should stop water from rolling down my arm. Pet Peeve.
http://www.amazon.com/Casabella-Clean-Waterstop-Rubber-Gloves/dp/B00556HHJQ/ref=pd_sim_hpc_4

Don’t get me wrong. If I had a choice, I’d delegate the dishes too. My husband has the bad habit of leaving the pots and pans for me, even when he’s done every other dish in the sink. So I’m pretty sure I’ll be stuck at the sink until my kids stop thinking of water in the sink as time for a nice swim.

What chore do you dislike the least in your house?

Published by dirtdonthurtmom

Beauty and Simplicity inspire me. Lack of clarity annoys me. Selfish people really piss me off. I have a filter, but ignore it, mostly.

4 thoughts on “Dishpan hands

  1. I bet I know what you are getting for xmas 🙂 I always leave the pots and pans soaking for Steve – I organize the dishes but try to not actually do them. The chore I hate the least? cleaning toilets. In fact I was late for my dr appt today bc I had to clean all 3 of them before I left the house!

    Like

  2. We LOVE those Casabella gloves, they’re price (and can only be bought online, depending on the country you live in), but I haven’t seen anything like that so far.

    Well, I know this is gonna sound silly, but dishes is the chore that I dislike the least. I don’t mind dishes, but I do hate dishpan hands, perhaps more than you do. As a neat freak myself, I’d have to wash my hands ten times or more afterwards, just to make sure they’re completely clean, and soap free.

    Like

Leave a comment