Explaining a significant hiatus

It has been a while since my head was clear enough to write anything here. Long story very short, I have a new job, closer to home, and am spending twice as much time with the kids. No more nannies. No more getting home after bed time. I’m doing work that I love, locally. I no longer commute, and I pick my kids up at a reasonable hour.

THey aren’t allowed to watch much TV. They never leave me alone. So I don’t get much writing done.

Since I last sat down to write a blog post, we have also gone vegan, cheated a bunch, and have landed onto 5 day a week ova-vegetarianism for all of our home cooked meals, with minimal grassfed meat consumption on the weekends.

We have 4 new chicks, one of whom is most certainly a rooster. And an asshole.

I am the primary caregiver of my children for the first time since Rhys was one year old. And I don’t even have bacon to lean on.

Just to compare, last time I was REALLY in charge, they looked like this:

One and three

Babies! Both of them were babies! This had it’s own set of challenges, but parenting PEOPLE is different in so many ways.

THESE KIDS

See, real people

They require negotiation. Talks about private parts and name calling and accessorizing and stranger danger and anger and the importance of not shoving all your neatly folded clothes into one fucking drawer because your mother is going to lose it.

It is really exhausting.

But now I actually KNOW my kids, and they are beginning to get to know me. It’s awesome. It also takes a shit-ton of effort that I often don’t feel like I have to offer at the end of the day. Plus the husband works at least one weekend day a week (both of them this weekend) and every “shopping” holiday, so I am spending a LOT of time single parenting.

I’m not used to arranging play dates and practicing bike riding and the appropriate amount of time between last snack and dinner. I am horrible at all of these things. It’s getting better, but we have a long road ahead. So bear with me as I whine incessantly and only occasionally have anything funny to say.

Hopefully, you will get a few vegetarian meal ideas from me at some point, too. Maybe. No promises.

Published by dirtdonthurtmom

Beauty and Simplicity inspire me. Lack of clarity annoys me. Selfish people really piss me off. I have a filter, but ignore it, mostly.

2 thoughts on “Explaining a significant hiatus

  1. Hi Darlin’….dropped a note to the Seed Bank there…begging for a job of sorts…if I can figure it out, I will come help you with the farm….and the kids. Although, i think I am better at farming. xoxo

    Like

  2. Well, heck: open up the blog for advice. I once asked how in the name of h-e-double-hockey-sticks anyone cooked dinner when two children of vastly different ages beat the living tar out of each other. “Chop, cho…I hear someone upset, so can we find a solution? Chop, chop, ch…I hear frustration, do you need to go outside?” I got some good answers. Why not ask for end-of-day energy advice and vegetarian recipes? Heck, I just compiled a list of the easiest vegan crock-pot meals last Sunday. They’re on paper at this point, but I’d type ’em up for another mom losing her sh*t just as badly as I am.

    Like

Leave a comment